A brief overview of the technical criteria that all Passive Houses must meet.

The Passive House Standard


1. Space Heating Demand
- Not to exceed 15 kWh annually OR 10W (Heating Load) per square meter of usable living space.

2. Space Cooling Demand
- Roughly matches the heat demand with an additional, climate-dependent allowance for

3. Primary Energy (PE) Demand*
- Not to exceed 120 kWh annually for all domestic applications (heating, cooling, hot water, and
domestic electricity) per square meter of usable living space.

4. Air Tightness
- Maximum of 0.6 air changes per hour at 50 Pascals pressure (as verified with an onsite pressure test
in both pressurized and depressurized states).

5. Thermal Comfort
- Must be met for all living areas year-round with not more than 10% of the hours in any given year
over 25°C

* PE Demand is currently still accepted but is being phased out and replaced with Primary Energy Renewable (PER) Demand which carries new criteria based on renewable energy being generated on site.

The PER Demand Criteria is divided into 2 categories and is as follows:

1. Passive House Classic:
- Consume less than 60 kWh/(m²a) for no renewable energy being generated on site.

2. Passive House Plus:
- Consume less 45 kWh/(m²a) and also generate no less than 60 kWh/(m²a) of renewable energy.

3. Passive House Premium:
- Consume less than 30 kWh/(m²a) and also generate no less than 120 kWh/(m²a) of renewable energy

Passive House is a rigorous, performance-based, energy efficiency construction standard. It consistently and predictably provides a high level of comfort, even in the most extreme of weather conditions. Passive House is the highest energy efficiency standard for buildings in the world.

Energy Performance Ratings of Buildings